My new custom draperies arrived for my family room and I could not wait to see them up.  I had some rod pocket panels made in a small geometric blue on off white pattern.  It is not often that I like to use small geometrics on windows, however in this case I had a lot of solid going on everywhere else in the room so I decided to go for it.  I fell in love with the fabric and wanted to see a lot of it.  

I hung them from polished nickel curtain rods with ball finials.  I used clip rings instead of the pole pocket to hang the curtains for a more custom look.  I mixed and matched with two dark wood holdbacks that coordinate with the other woods in the room, again, for a more custom (found treasure vs. matchy-matchy) look.  Each panel puddles about 3 inches on the floor for a little drama and so that the swag would not cause the panels to look too short.  I did one panel on each window swagged away from fireplace to frame or highlight the fireplace as the focal point of the room.  See more on window treatments under Window Treatments 101…

Check out the pictures…

New custom panels in the family room.

 

Found Treasure….

Check out these absolutely gorgeous lamps I found at another consignment shop in Haymarket.  They are for my daughter’s room and are just darling.  I love consignment shops, they are fabulous for finding small treasures.  I particularly love STUFF in Gainesville and The Very Thing in Haymarket.  Both lamps are in new condition and you could not beat the price.  I couldn’t believe how perfectly girly they were.  The lamps shades are not the exact pink I’ve been working with in my daughter’s room but again, I do not like matchy-matchy, I find that varying your shades of color, your patinas and finishes, and your woods makes for a more interesting, custom, “found-treasure-over-time” look.  Check out these adorable lamps…

Aren't these the sweetest thing you've ever seen?

 

Coming soon… my next steps are to wallpaper the wall in my daughter’s room, paint the kids’ bathroom and hopefully paint the family room.  In the next few posts I will discuss choosing the perfect paint color and tips for choosing wallpaper.  Plus, why wallpaper is a great decorating choice.  Stay tuned.

Don’t forget to check out the Decorator’s Find of the Moment for some more cool treasures and finds…

