Its been a while since I’ve posted.  I’ve been busy working and taking care of kids and well, working.  But I have also been really busy working on the house.  I’ve focused primarily on the main level, trying to get it in order for a June 19th get together I’m hosting at my house.  My biggest investment so far, a brand new built in in my family room.  I designed this baby when I first moved in.  It was a dream in waiting until my husband decided that I could have it for my birthday.  Yoo-hoo!  What a fantastic birthday present.  It turned out fabulous.  A good friend of mine, who happens to be a contractor created it for me at cost.  It took he and his carpenter one week to create it off site.  In the meantime, they had provided me the back panels to wallpaper, which I did in a beautiful metallic wallpaper I had purchased for a closet turned TV nook in my previous house, that I never got around to papering.  I had the unit painted to match my kitchen cabinets.  I used a product from Benjamin Moore called Cabinet Coat.  it is specifically designed for this type of application.  The color match was perfect.  Those guys at Vienna Paint of Gainesville really know their stuff.

The unit features a larger, centered opening for the 39″ flat screen TV (yes, its a smaller TV, we have a 59″ in the basement media area).  It also features a compartment below the TV for the cable box and receiver.  My contractor friend is working on a glass sliding door to conceal the components.  I hope to have that soon.  It also features plenty of storage for books, my collection of pottery and other knick-knacks.  I have to keep the lower two compartments free of anything breakable, or pretty much anything because my 2 and 4 year olds will take anything I put there down and play with it.  So right now they act as little cubbies for them to lay in.  I also purchased two large baskets to keep all of the toys that inevitable end up on this level.

Check out the pictures…

Family Room Photo

Its all coming together...

The new built in...

In my next post I will talk about the painting I’ve completed, what colors I used and what kind of paint.  I will also talk about my dining room paint faux-pas and what I plan to do on my tray ceiling (as well as other great ideas for tray ceilings, which have become really popular in new construction).

